Banner Viadrina

International PhD Study Programme

With the launch of the International PhD Study Programme in Social and Cultural Sciences - one of the first such programmes in the Berlin-Brandenburg region - on April 1st 2020, PhD researchers will be offered new perspectives and opportunities for their qualifcation

They may benefit from a clearly structured and dense PhD programme including committed supervision. The programme offers attractive support structures, both financial and human-based. Beside classical research, the programme focuses on Key Qualification workshops as well as career development courses. The researchers have the opportunity to work out their own teaching profile and to acquire techniques of networking

The opening of the PhD Study Programme goes hand in hand with the opening of a new doctoral school with a research focus on migration planned for the winter term 2020/2021.

The Faculty provides PhD researchers admitted to the Study Programme with start-up and completion grants as well as support grants for travelling, publishing and conference participation, too.

We are looking forward to your application!

Admission to the PhD Study Programme has to be requested via the registration of your PhD at the Faculty (“Promotionszulassung”), which includes the submission of the PhD agreement signed by you and both supervisors. The only pre-condition for being admitted to the PhD Study Programme when compared with the individual PhD is indeed to have a second supervisor ready to sign the PhD agreement. Please beware of § 9 and § 30 of the new PhD regulations: One of the supervisors has to be member of the Faculty of Social and Cultural Sciences whereas the additional supervisor may come from one of the other Faculties at Viadrina University or from an external university. In any case, both supervisors must have completed a habilitation or prove equivalent qualifications.

The requests for admission to the PhD Study Programme will be carefully checked by the PhD board on March 18th 2020. If you wish to take part in the PhD Study Programme, you will have to request admission by March 08th 2020 using one of the following procedures:

- or by requesting admission to the PhD procedure (in case you are not yet admitted to the PhD procedure), ticking the relevant box on the PhD agreement, please see § 8 (esp. section 3) and § 28 of the new PhD regulations
- or by requesting a change of the existing PhD agreement (in case you are already admitted to the PhD procedure), also ticking the relevant box on the PhD agreement. Together with the request, you should submit the new PhD agreement signed by both supervisors.

Please use exclusively the new form of the PhD agreement which you find under the rubrique "Regulations". This is valid for the PhD Study Programme as well as for the individual PhD.

Requests are to be addressed to the head of the PhD board, Prof. Dr. Cornelia Müller, Große Scharrnstr. 59, 15230 Frankfurt (Oder) and may be handed in to Ms Kathrin Göritz, responsible for the PhD and habilitation procedures at the Faculty (room HG 062).


It is a structured PhD programme with the following features:

  • The PhD Study Programme includes a curriculum of 180 ECTS credits.
  • Each doctoral researcher has a supervision team of at least two supervisors.
  • Each doctoral researcher has to undergo yearly evaluation procedures aiming at measuring the PhD progress as well the earned ECTS credits.
  • The standard period of study is three years. The maximal PhD duration allowed is four years.
  • The Faculty offers extensive financial support, amongst others in the form of start-up grants as well as scholarships/positions in a graduate school. However, there is no guarantee of financial support for researchers admitted to the PhD Study Programme.
  • All disciplines represented at the Faculty of Social and Cultural Sciences are eligible for admission to the PhD Study Programme.

Unbenannt3 ©Eigendatei

Unbenannt4 ©Eigendatei

Banner Viadrina

Promotionsstudiengang


Mit der Einführung des Internationalen Promotionsstudiengangs Kulturwissenschaften zum Sommersemester 2020 – einem der ersten seiner Art in Berlin-Brandenburg – eröffnen sich den Promovierenden völlig neue Perspektiven:

Sie haben nun zusätzlich zur studiengangsfreien Promotion die Möglichkeit zu einer klar strukturierten, kompakten und durch Betreuerteams wissenschaftlich eng begleiteten Promotion mit vielfältigen Unterstützungsmöglichkeiten sowohl finanzieller wie ideeller Art. Neben der klassischen Forschungsarbeit liegt der Fokus u.a. auf der Weiterqualifizierung und der Karriereentwicklung (Modul "Wissenschaftsmanagement und Forschungsorganisation"). Die Promovierenden haben die Möglichkeit, ein eigenes Lehrprofil zu entwickeln (Modul "Lehre") und sich zu vernetzen (Modul "Forschung und Vernetzung").

Die Eröffnung des Studiengangs geht mit der Einwerbung von Geldern für ein neues Promotionskolleg mit dem Forschungsfokus Migration einher, das voraussichtlich zum Wintersemester 2020/2021 beginnen wird.

Des Weiteren stellt die Fakultät den Programmteilnehmern/-innen Anschub- und Abschluss-Stipendien, Reisebeihilfen sowie Konferenz- und Publikationsmittel bereit.

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung!


Die Aufnahme in den Promotionsstudiengang erfolgt mittels des Antrags auf Zulassung zur Promotion, dem die von dem/der Doktoranden/-in sowie den Betreuern/-innen unterschriebene Promotionsvereinbarung beigefügt sein muss. Einzige Zusatzbedingung im Vergleich zur Aufnahme in die individuelle Promotion ist der Nachweis eines/-r zweiten Betreuers/-in, der/die auf der Promotionsvereinbarung mit unterschreiben muss. Hierbei sind die § 9 und 30 der neuen Promotionsordnung unbedingt zu beachten: Eine/-r der beiden Betreuer/-innen muss aus der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät kommen, der/die weitere Betreuer/-in kann aus einer anderen Fakultät der Viadrina oder einer anderen Universität kommen. In jedem Fall müssen beide Betreuer/-innen habilitiert sein oder eine Habilitationsäquivalenz nachweisen.

Über die Aufnahme in den Promotionsstudiengang zum Sommersemester 2020 befindet der Promotionsausschuss in einer außerordentlichen Sitzung am Mittwoch, 18. März 2020. Wenn Sie eine Aufnahme in den Promotionsstudiengang zum 1. April 2020 wünschen, dann müssen Sie spätestens bis zum 08. März 2020 entweder

- einen Antrag auf Promotionszulassung stellen (im Fall der Erstaufnahme einer Promotion) und dabei das entsprechende Kästchen auf der Promotionsvereinbarung ankreuzen, siehe dazu § 8 (insb. Absatz 3) und § 28 der angehängten neuen Promotionsordnung
- oder einen Antrag auf Änderung der bestehenden Promotionsvereinbarung stellen (für den Fall, dass Sie bereits promovieren) und auch in diesem Fall das entsprechende Kästchen auf der Promotionsvereinbarung ankreuzen. Der Antrag ist formlos und ihm sollte bereits die neue Promotionsvereinbarung inkl. der Unterschrift beider Betreuer/-innen beigefügt werden.

Für die Promottionszulassung ist ab sofort ausschließlich das Formular der Promotionsvereinbarung zu verwenden, das Sie im Reiter "Regularien" finden. Das gilt sowohl für die Zulassung zum Promotionsstudiengang wie für die Zulassung zur studiengangsfreien Promotion.

Die Anträge sind schriftlich an die Vorsitzende des Promotionsausschusses, Forschungsdekanin Frau Prof. Cornelia Müller, Große Scharrnstr. 59, 15230 Frankfurt (Oder) zu richten und können bei Frau Kathrin Göritz, Sachbearbeiterin für Promotions- und Habilitationsverfahren (HG 062), eingereicht werden.

 
Es handelt sich um ein strukturiertes Promotionsprogramm mit den folgenden Merkmalen:

  • Der Promotionsstudiengang umfasst ein Studienprogramm inkl. Leistungen für die Dissertation in einem Umfang von 180 ECTS-Credits.
  • Jede Promovierende bzw. jeder Promovierende wird von einem Team von mindestens zwei Betreuern/-innen betreut.
  • Jede Promovierende bzw. jeder Promovierende durchläuft jährliche Evaluationsverfahren, in denen der Stand der Dissertation sowie der erreichten ECTS-Credits geprüft werden.
  • Die Regelstudienzeit beträgt drei Jahre. Die maximale Promotionsdauer beträgt vier Jahre.
  • Die Fakultät bietet umfangreiche finanzielle Unterstützung an, u.a. in Form von Anschub-Stipendien sowie Stellen in einem Promotionskolleg. Einen grundsätzlichen Anspruch für Studierende des Promotionsstudiengangs auf eine finanzielle Unterstützung gibt es allerdings nicht.
  • In allen Disziplinen, die an der Kulturwissenschaftlichen Fakultät vertreten sind, kann im Rahmen des Promotionsstudiengangs promoviert werden.

Unbenannt3 ©Eigendatei

Unbenannt4 ©Eigendatei