Banner Viadrina

Prof. Hasret Dikici Bilgin

Hasret Dikici Bilgin_Klein ©Hasret Dikici Bilgin

Faculty of Social and Cultural Sciences (Kuwi)

Logenstraße 11
15230 Frankfurt (Oder)
🏠 LH 111
☏ +49 335 5534 2530


Hasret Dikici Bilgin is an Associate Professor of political science in the Department of International Relations of Istanbul Bilgi University. She focuses on class analysis in social movements, radicalisation, political parties, elections and the political elite. Among her recent publications are: ‘Süslüman: On class and gender issues in the Turkish political Islam’ (Turkish Studies), ‘Revisiting the Moderation Controversy with Space and Class: The Tunisian Ennahda’ (Third World Quarterly, 2021); ‘Social Conflicts and Politicised Cleavages in Turkey’, in Party Politics in Turkey: A Comparative Perspective (S. Sayarı, P. Ayan Musil and Ö. Demirkol, eds., 2018); ‘Turkey’s Ministerial Elites: The Growing Importance of Technical Expertise’, in Technocratic Ministers and Political Leadership in European Democracies (P. de Almeida and A. Costa Pinto, eds., 2018; with S. Sayarı); ‘The Obscurities of a Referendum Foretold: What We Know and Don’t Know about the 2017 Constitutional Amendments in Turkey’ (Review of Middle East Studies, 2018; with E. Erdoğan); ‘Westernist Sceptics and Anti-Western Reformers in the Turkish Party System’ (Journal of Balkan and Near Eastern Studies, 2016), ‘Types of Outcomes in Factional Rivalries: Lessons from Non-Democratic Parties in Turkey’ (International Political Science Review, 2017; with P. Ayan Musil); and ‘Paths to Power: The Making of Cabinet Ministers in Turkey’ (Parliamentary Affairs, 2011; with S. Sayarı). She co-edited the book entitled Karşılaştırmalı Siyaset: Temel Konular ve Yaklaşımlar, which was awarded by Turkish Academy of Sciences in 2014 as the best copyright work in social sciences. She acts as the principal researcher of Turkey for Horizon 2020 Project No.959198, De-Radicalization in Europe and Beyond: Detect, Resolve, Re-integrate. She serves on the executive committees of the International Political Science Association (IPSA) and the Turkish Political Science Association (TPSA).