Banner Viadrina

Master of Arts
in European Studies

Sciences Po Strasbourg

Welcome to the website of the double master's programme of the European University Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) in cooperation with Sciences Po Strasbourg!

Bienvenue sur le site du Double-Master á Sciences Po Strasbourg et à la Viadrina! 

logo ©Deutsch Französiche Hochschule

The Double Master's Programme is a joint programme of the Viadrina and Sciences Po Strasbourg, which exists since the winter semester 2009 and is one of the integrated study programmes of the Deutsch-Französische Hochschule. Since then, over 95 participants have earned their double Master's degree (as of 10/2019). Seven MES students will also be able to participate in the programme in 2019/20 (subject to approval by the DFH).

Image film on the german-french master's programme

Students receive a profound education about Europe and the European Union in the disciplines of political science, economics, law and cultural studies. The focus here is particularly on politics in Europe. Teaching is mainly in German and French, but also in English.

A short information film about studying at Sciences Po Strasbourg can be found here. The film was made in the Master Affaires Européennes and was realised by Hans von der Burchardt and Simon Vigueur.

  • You will spend the first two semesters at the Viadrina.

    • In the winter semester, you should complete the 4 basic modules of 24 ECTS each as well as a first course from the central area with 6 ECTS.

    • In the second semester, a further 30 ECTS must be completed, either from the central area or compulsory elective modules.
      This results in a total of 60 ECTS for the first year of study.

    • No points can be earned in the modules "Practical Skills" and "Foreign Languages" within the framework of the double master's programme.

    • For the French programme participants, it also applies that no more than 20 ECTS may be acquired in their native language at the Viadrina.

  • German and French students spend the third semester together at Sciences Po.

    • In this semester, a total of 39 ECTS must be acquired.

    • A "spécialité" is chosen at Sciences Po. The choices are "Politiques européennes et affaires publiques", "Sécurité extérieure et intérieure de l'UE" and "Politiques européennes et franco-germaniques".

    • This is followed by a compulsory practical semester of at least 3 months. The aim is for the students to develop a topic for their Master's thesis from the internship. This must finally be written by the end of the summer semester, i.e. September, and is credited with 21 ECTS after a successful defence. The thesis must be supervised by a German and a French lecturer in co-tutelle.

    • Students acquire two Master's degrees for 60 ECTS credits each, i.e. the German and French grades are not offset against each other. If at least 12 ECTS were acquired in English during the degree programme, the certificate "Multilingualism" can also be issued. The decisive factor for this is the examination regulations of the MES.

      • The following degrees are awarded for successful completion:

        • Degree Germany: Master of Arts in European Studies

        • French degree: Master Études européennes et internationales

          You can find an exemplary study plan here.

The selection procedure takes place once a year in summer. The application deadline is 15 July (date of receipt), just as for the regular Master's programme in European Studies. Accepted students spend (subject to acceptance by the DFH) the winter semester as well as the summer semester at the Viadrina and go to Sciences Po Strasbourg for the following winter semester as well as the summer semester.

Up to seven places can be allocated. If you do not receive a place in the double master's programme, your application will be valid for the regular Master in European Studies at the same time.

Future students who wish to apply for a place in the double master's programme go through the regular online application procedure of the Viadrina. Please check the box "Application for a Double Master Program" in the application portal. The application requirements and documents to be submitted are the same as for a regular place on the European Studies programme. In addition, you must upload a letter of motivation and a CV in French and prove French language skills at the level of at least UNIcert II.

German students are exempt from tuition fees at Sciences Po Strasbourg. There are currently 7 Erasmus places available per academic year. After successful application for the double master's programme, a separate application must be submitted to the International Office.

The Deutsch-FRanzösische Hochschule supports students during their time abroad with a monthly mobility allowance (currently 308 € per month; as of 13/2021). There is also the possibility to apply for an Erasmus grant via the European University Viadrina.

The Viadrina does not charge tuition fees. All students pay a semester fee, the Semesterbeitrag. Although this fee is to be paid upon enrolment or re-registration, it is not an amount for the Viadrina, but is passed on in full to the Studentenwerk or the AStA.

Important Documents

Form for the Certificate EUV (SPO 2008) Formular Zeugniserstellung EUV (SPO 2008) an der Viadrina

Form for the Cerificate EUV (2008) Formular Zeugniserstellung EUV (SPO 2017) an der Viadrina

Plaquette of Sciences for the double master's programme Plaquette der Sciences Po für den Doppelmaster 

Conversion table Umrechnungstabelle

Course of Study for the programme Studienverlauf Doppelmasterprogramm

Cooperation agreement (french/german) Kooperationsvertrag (französisch/deutsch)


All about studying

Official Website of Sciences Po Strasbourg


Deutsch-Französische Hochschule: Deutsch-Französische Hochschule (DFH/UFA)

FAQ for students of the DFH/ UFA:
FAQ für Studierende der DFH/UFA

Enrolment at the DFH
Einschreibung bei der DFH


Project Pensées Francaises Contemporaines (events, conferences and publication on French thought and studies at Viadrina)

Results of the graduate study 2019 Ergebnisse der Absolventenstudie 2019

Instagram-Account from french and german students

Strasbourg

Site officiel de la ville et de la communauté urbaine de Strasbourg (CUS)


Bibliothèque nationale et universitaire de Strasbourg


Parlement européen
Conseil de l'Europe
Cour européenne des Droits de l'Homme


ARTE

   PO-mini ©strasbourg     mini ©strasbourg

Banner Viadrina

Master of Arts
in European Studies

Sciences Po Strasbourg

Willkommen auf der Webseite des Doppelmasters der Europa-Universität Viadrina Frankfurt (Oder) in Kooperation mit dem Sciences Po Strasbourg!

Bienvenue sur le site du Double-Master á Sciences Po Strasbourg et à la Viadrina! 

logo ©Deutsch Französiche Hochschule

Das Doppelmasterprogramm ist ein gemeinsames Programm der Viadrina und der Sciences Po Strasbourg, das seit dem Wintersemester 2009 besteht und zu den integrierten Studiengängen der Deutsch-Französischen Hochschule zählt. Seitdem haben über 95 TeilnehmerInnen ihren Doppel-Masterabschluss erworben (Stand 10/2019). Auch 2019/20 können sieben MES-Studierende (unter Vorbehalt der Zusage durch die DFH) an dem Programm teilnehmen.

Image-Film zum deutsch-französischen Doppelmaster European Studies

Die Studierenden erhalten eine umfassende Ausbildung über Europa und die Europäische Union in den Disziplinen Politik-, Wirtschafts-, Rechts- und Kulturwissenschaft. Der Schwerpunkt liegt hierbei insbesondere auf der Politik in Europa. Gelehrt wird überwiegend auf Deutsch und Französisch, aber auch auf Englisch.

Ein kurzer Informationsfilm über das Studium an der Sciences Po Strasbourg findet sich hier. Der Film ist entstanden im Master Affaires Européennes und wurde realisiert von Hans von der Burchardt und Simon Vigueur.

  • Die ersten beiden Semester verbringen Sie an der Viadrina.
      • Im Wintersemester sollen die 4 Grundlagenmodule à 24 ECTS absolviert werden sowie ein erster Kurs aus dem Zentralbereich mit 6 ECTS.
      • Im zweiten Semester müssen weitere 30 ECTS wahlweise aus den Zentralbereichs- oder Wahlpflichtmodulen erbracht werden.
      • Somit ergibt sich eine Gesamtsumme von 60 ECTS für das erste Studienjahr.
      • In den Modulen „Praxisrelevante Fertigkeiten“ sowie „Fremdsprachen“ können im Rahmen des Doppelmasters keine Punkte  erworben werden.
      • Für die französischen ProgrammteilnehmerInnen gilt zudem, dass an der Viadrina nicht mehr als 20 ECTS in ihrer Muttersprache erworben werden dürfen.
  • Das dritte Semester verbringen deutsche und französische Studierende gemeinsam an der Sciences Po.
      • In diesem Semester müssten insgesamt 39 ECTS erworben werden.
      • An der Sciences Po wird eine "spécialité" gewählt. Zur Auswahl stehen "Politiques européennes et affaires publiques", "Sécurité extérieure et intérieure de l'UE" und "Politiques européennes et franco-germaniques".
      • Es schließt sich ein obligatorisches Praxissemester von mindestens 3 Monaten an. Ziel ist es, dass die Studierenden aus dem Praktikum heraus ein Thema für ihre Masterarbeit entwickeln. Diese muss schließlich bis Ende des Sommersemesters, d.h. September, geschrieben werden und wird nach erfolgreicher Verteidigung mit 21 ECTS gewertet. Die Thesis muss von einem deutschen und einem französischen Dozenten in Co-Tutelle betreut werden.

Die Studierenden erwerben zwei Masterabschlüsse über jeweils 60 ECTS-Punkte, das heißt, die deutschen und die französischen Noten werden nicht miteinander verrechnet. Wurden während des Studiums mindestens 12 ECTS auf Englisch erworben, so kann zusätzlich das Zertifikat "Mehrsprachigkeit" ausgestellt werden. Ausschlaggebend hierfür ist die Prüfungsordnung des MES.

Für das erfolgreiche Bestehen werden folgende Abschlüsse vergeben:

Abschluss Deutschland: Master of Arts in European Studies

Abschluss Frankreich: Master Études européennes et internationales

Einen exemplarischen Studienverlaufsplan finden Sie hier.

Das Auswahlverfahren findet einmal im Jahr im Sommer statt. Die Bewerbungsfrist ist der 15. Juli 2020 (Eingangsdatum), genau wie für das reguläre Masterprogramm in European Studies. Angenommene Studierende verbringen (unter Vorbehalt der Zusage durch die DFH) das Wintersemester 2020/21 sowie das Sommersemester 2021 an der Viadrina und gehen für das Wintersemester 2021/22 sowie das Sommersemester 2022 an die Sciences Po Strasbourg.

Es können bis zu sieben Plätze vergeben werden. Sollten Sie keinen Platz im Doppelmasterprogramm erhalten, gilt Ihre Bewerbung gleichzeitig für den regulären Master in European Studies.

Zukünftige Studierende, die sich auf einen Platz im Doppelmasterprogramm bewerben möchten, durchlaufen das reguläre Online-Bewerbungsverfahren der Viadrina. Bitte markieren Sie im Bewerbungsportal die Box "Bewerbung um ein Doppelmasterprogramm". Die Bewerbungsbedingungen und einzureichenden Unterlagen decken sich mit der Bewerbung auf einen normalen Platz im Studiengang European Studies. Darüber hinaus müssen Sie ein Motivationsschreiben und einen Lebenslauf in französischer Sprache hochladen und Französischkenntnisse auf dem Level von mindestens UNIcert II nachweisen

Die deutschen Studierenden sind von den Studiengebühren der Sciences Po Strasbourg befreit. Pro akademischem Jahr stehen derzeit 7 Erasmusplätze zur Verfügung. Nach erfolgreicher Bewerbung für den Doppelmaster muss hierfür eine gesonderte Bewerbung im Internationalen Büro erfolgen.

Die Deutsch-Französische Hochschule fördert die Studierenden während ihrer Auslandsphase durch eine monatliche Mobilitätsbeihilfe (zur Zeit monatlich 300 €; Stand 10/2019). Außerdem besteht die Möglichkeit über die Europa-Universität Viadrina eine Erasmus-Förderung zu beantragen.

Die Viadrina erhebt keine Studiengebühren. Alle Studierenden zahlen einen Semesterbeitrag. Dieser ist zwar bei der Einschreibung bzw. Rückmeldung zu zahlen, ist aber kein Betrag für die Viadrina, sondern wird  komplett an das Studentenwerk bzw. an den AStA weitergeleitet

   PO-mini ©strasbourg          mini ©strasbourg